Day 2:Mingling through the pages of History

I just arrived here,It is 9:02 am.When we were going to our hotel in Rajgir.The fog was crazy,I reckon our driver as some kind of magician as it was impossible to look past the fog.

‘Nalanda Entrance’

‘The prayer hall in Nalanda’

Our balcony is so beautiful,I can see my dear mountains from here.The chilly air makes me heart shivver with joy.I can see people here love jalebis,I tasted one(Liar!I can never satisfied with one).The jalebis are so good literally.


picture credit=Me

After getting fresh,we got ready to visit the place,I always wanted to go.As a mystery lover,history is always fascinating for me.And Nalanda ofcourse is a treasure box for me.Many Boudhists pilgrims visit Nalanda every year.It is a previllage that within our own country we have this historical wonders.

As soon as I walk through the wide road,with trees surrounding the whole walkaway.Nalanda campus is really vast,with green fields along the place.

‘Beautiful roads leading to Nalanda’

‘The burned steps’

Nalanda is a UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE.It is founded in 5th century c.e,a large Boudhists monestery situated in the ancient kingdom of Magadha(Modern day Bihar).The School attracted students from all around the world,of some travelling all the way from Tibet,China,Korea and all the diffirent places of Asia.Today whatever we know about the history of ‘The early university of India’ is from the writings of Xuanzang and yijing,travelling monks who visited the Mahavihara in the 7th century c.e.The professors and the students had seperate rooms with library,prayer hall,Temple.Such a astonishing thing,when people could hardly think of education,This indian university studied Sanskrit grammar,logic,vedic like subjects.The coins and other things which found in the ruins, can be seen in the museum in Japan.This glorious university was destroyed by Bakhtiyar Khilji in the 1200 c.e.It is said that the libraries which hold important manuscripts set on fire and the whole library kept burning for 6 months.There is also the steps of library and the ruins of the hall where they used to gather for prayers.

‘The steps towards the library’

History maniac as I am,Nalanda inspired me to go on and see all the burned marks of past centuries and to explore histories of the unknown.

‘The Buddha sculpture found here in the ruins of Nalanda.But unfortunetly destroyed by the devastating earthquake’.

I don’t wanna fall asleep.It is so good to live when places make you stunned.

I cannot wait for you my dear tomorrow,who knows what it brings.

11 thoughts on “Day 2:Mingling through the pages of History

Leave a Reply

